Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

20160707_193623

I’ve talked A LOT about foundations so thought I’d switch it up a bit and go for my new favourite – liquid lipstick. Goes on like a gloss but a finish, texture and colour of a lipstick – so pretty much what it says on the tin!

I’d put off reviewing lip products too much because I’m afraid I fall into the duck face selfie culture and am powerless to resist a good pout when given half a chance- so let’s get that part over with:

20160707_123938

Aaaah that’s better….

So let’s get to it – I went for Stila’s all day version as I like a good ‘scientific’ (using the word very loosely) experiment. How would it feel, would it last, would I be able to resist pouting at myself?

For the first question it goes on as quickly and as easily as a lip gloss, the colour of this one is Baci which is a real dusky pink and different from my normal candy pinks but I did like it. It starts to dry right away and you can feel it, although when it’s done it doesn’t feel as though it’s drying your lips out. It says it’s infused with Vitamin E and Avocado Oil so I’m assuming that’s why! (Told you it was scientific)

Next test was staying power, although it says all day, when you look closer it guarantees 6 hours of full coverage – I wish my working days were 6 hours! Anyhow, I don’t mind topping up but I do expect it will survive a couple of brews and a spot of lunch.

After 6 hours and my working day was not complete (not that I’m bitter about that) the results were in……

20160707_193705

Not one bit had disappeared – and I had the aforementioned refreshments. Β As I write this a few hours later it’s still going pretty strong, slightly faded but still impressive.

I am genuinely surprised as I’ve never had a traditional lipstick that has lasted so long and at Β£16 I don’t think that’s an unreasonable price to pay for day long lip colour.

I do think it made my lips look a bit fuller but that could just be the result of a lot of pout practice. Either way I could possibly have met my next obsession and will be proudly flying the flag for duck faces everywhere for some time to come…….you’re welcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

